JPL Cup U16 Group 4

  • Torquay
    Daniel Chapman 17, Thomas Burt 48, 54, James de Selincourt 28, Theo Cadby 34, 48
  • 6 - 2
  • Wells City
    Nick Fowler 10, 38
  • competition : JPL Cup U16 Group 4
  • date : 07/09/2019
  • time : 10:45
  • comment :

Match Report

TUFC U16s v Wells U16s

The opening game of the JPL season with the backdrop of Dartmoor was played out on the new 4G surface at South Devon College. Torquay Utd U16s notching a great 6-2 victory against a very game Wells City side.

Wells took the lead with a goal from a long ball over the top. Dan Chapman equalled the scores only minutes later with a tidy finish.

The second quarter saw Torquay Utd pull ahead with a header from De Selincort and a strike from Theo Cadby to make it 3-1 at the half-time mark. Torquay began to turn the screw early in the third quarter and some confident defensive work from Langley saw the home side playing through the lines culminating in a superb strike from the lively Burt. The Wells boys weren’t beaten yet and their No.10 thumped a great strike into the roof of the Torquay net to spur a mini-revival but it was all in vain as Burt struck again to surely put the tie beyond Wells reach with a crisp bottom corner finish. Cadby rolled in his second and Torquay’s 6th to bring the scoring to an end.

An entertaining game, played in a great spirit by two teams who will surely figure at the top end of the JPL table this year... We wish the Wells team and supporters a safe journey home and all the best for the new season.

  • Torquay
  • match summary
  • Wells City
Torquay stats
NO name Goals G S B
Charlie Holbrook
Ben Langley
Lloyd Marshall
Thomas Burt 2
Zak Linley-Moss
Theo Cadby 2
Alfie Collings
Cowan Wilson
Louis Pascoe
Jack Mogg
Tyler Bell
Alexander Cherry
Freddie Brittain
Christopher Mahon
Daniel Chapman 1
Callum Black
Joseph Edmonds
James Rowe
Jack Thomson
James de Selincourt 1
Rhys Williams
Sam Stayt
Jack Winsor
NO name Goals G S B
Kai Murrell
Thomas Harrison
Alex Amor
James Ascott
Sam Stone
Jack Padfield
James Graham
Harvey Stewart
Coby Hepper-Stroud
Max Ambrosini
Nick Fowler 2
Liam Ford